DragonStone Carving – Behind the Scenes

With this post I invite you into the workshop to see works in progress

There’s always lots going on with many works in progress. For me this keeps the creative flow very positive and the different pieces feed and inform each other.

At the start of the week I’m much freer with starting new ideas, towards the end of the week I push for completion on something.
That’s unless there is a commission on the go in which case deadlines take over and I focus in.

A recent commission :- the drawing went onto the stone and photographs sent to the customer for approval.

Then I got started, cutting outlines first.

Changing the profile as well as the surface.

Cutting deeper and deeper in order to catch the light and cast shadows.

Refining the shapes further and further.
Polishing and smoothing

100

And final decision on where I pierced the stone for extra impact and finally finished.
The piece was delivered and installed by myself to become a garden focal point for happy customers.

Leave a Reply

